Tournament coverage Poker

APPT revamp announced

Written by Ben Blaschke

PokerStars has just launched the schedule for the revamped eighth season of the Asia Pacific Poker Tour (APPT) in 2014 with some significant changes introduced.

For the first time ever, all festivals run under the PokerStars banner will be part of the APPT including those formerly run as ANZPT events as well as the Macau Poker Cup (MPC), Macau Millions and Asia Championship of Poker (ACOP). As we announced last month, the Aussie Millions will now also be a leg of the APPT.

This means that in 2014 there will be a whopping 14 stops on the APPT, beginning with the 20th MPC to be held at PokerStars LIVE Macau at City of Dreams from 16 to 21 January. In total there will be seven separate events held in Macau in 2014 under the APPT banner as well as stops in Melbourne, Sydney, Seoul and the final event of the year in Auckland from 19 to 23 November.

Macau's City of Dreams will host seven legs of APPT Season 8

Macau’s City of Dreams will host seven legs of APPT Season 8

However, notable absentees from the calendar in 2014 are Cebu and Queenstown – bad news for players who largely considered those two stops to be among their favorites. Time will tell if there are any updates in that regard.

For more information on the new APPT in 2014, visit