Tournament coverage Poker

Le Jossec wins 2014 ACOP

Written by Ben Blaschke

Canada’s Gabriel Le Jossec has won the 2014 Asia Championship of Poker (ACOP) Main Event after overcoming a stacked final table to take home the HK$6.3 million top prize. Yet Le Jossec’s victory was somewhat overshadowed by the incredible run of 2013 ACOP champion Sunny Jung, who very nearly went back to back before eventually falling in second place.

Jung looked set to become the first player ever to win two APPT titles when he entered heads-up play with a big chip lead and to do so in consecutive ACOP Main Events would have been a truly phenomenal feat. The cards didn’t fall his way in the end, however, and it was Le Jossec the last man left standing after six grueling days of poker.

There were a number of other notables at a particularly tough final table, too. They included 2010 WSOP November Niner Joseph Cheong, 2014 Aussie Millions champion Ami Barer and former Macau Poker Cup winner Raiden Kan, but in the end it was to be Canada’s day as Le Jossec triumphed over the record-breaking 291-player field.

2014 ACOP Main Event Results

1st Gabriel Le Jossec (Canada) – HK$6,300,000 (US$812,903)

2nd Sunny Jung (Korea) – HK$4,250,000 (US$548,387)

3rd Zuo ‘ST’ Wang (China) – HK$2,565,000 (US$330,968)

4th Ami Barer (Canada) – HK$2,025,000 (US$261,290)

5th Vladimir Troyanovskiy (Russia) – HK$1,620,000 (US$209,032)

6th Konstantin Pogodin (Russia) – HK$1,350,000 (US$174,194)

7th Joseph Cheong (USA) – HK$1,080,000 (US$139,355)

8th Raiden Kan (Hong Kong) – HK$813,100 (US$104,916)

9th Tore Lukashaugen (Norway) – HK$675,000 (US$87,097)