Tournament coverage Poker

Takayama wins in Manila

Written by Ben Blaschke

APT Manila 2014 is in the books and it is Philippines local Mike Takayama celebrating this week after outlasting a tough final table to take home the P3,453,000 first prize (US$77,700).

It was another impressive field at Resorts World Manila with 366 players taking their seats across the two Day 1 flights. Among them were WSOP bracelet winner Gavin Smith, 2013 Macau Poker Cup champ Terry Fan, defending APT Manila champion Czardy Smith as well as Roger Spets, Bryan Huang, Sam Razavi and Dennis Huntly.

The remarkably consistent Razavi, who reached three final tables in the space of the past week in Manila, and Dennis Huntly – fresh from a third place finish at the recent ANZPT Melbourne – were both among the final eight but could only manage third and fifth respectively as Takayama stormed to victory.

The Filipino showed great patience to ride out the ups and downs of the final table before pouncing with some well-timed big hands to continue an impressive run of results of late. Only last month Takayama won the six-max event at MPC21 just a day after finishing third in another side event.

The Asian Poker Tour will return to Resorts World Manila for the 2014 APT finale from 3 December to 10 December.