The poker industry

Ten nominated for 2015 Poker Hall of Fame

The World Series of Poker (WSOP) has released its 2015 list of finalists for the Poker Hall of Fame with up to two of them to be inducted following voting by an elite panel of judges next month.

The 10 nominees boast a total of 19 WSOP bracelets between them and include five-time bracelet winners John Juanda and David Chiu, 2001 Main Event champion Carlos Mortensen, female poker pioneer Jennifer Harman and the late David “Devilfish” Ulliott.

Influential poker ambassador Bruno Fitoussi and Terry Rogers – who played key roles in growing the game in France and Ireland respectively – are also among the nominees, as is the World Poker Tour’s Executive Tour Director Matt Savage.

The 23 living Hall of Fame members and a 16-person media panel will cast their votes on who they believe should be inducted during WSOP Main Event final table festivities in November.

Inductees must fulfil the following criteria:

  • A player must have played poker against acknowledged top competition
  • Be a minimum of 40 years old at time of nomination
  • Played for high stakes
  • Played consistently well, gaining the respect of peers
  • Stood the test of time
  • Or, for non-players, contributed to the overall growth and success of the game of poker, with indelible positive and lasting results.

The full list of nominees is Chris Bjorin, David Chiu, Bruno Fitoussi, Jennifer Harman, John Juanda, Carlos Mortensen, Max Pescatori, Terry Rogers, Matt Savage and Dave Ulliott.